Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs

So if you don’t know anything about Florida then let me give you a weather lesson and debunk any myths. It is hot a lot here, but it isn’t always sunny. In fact, it rains a ton! Especially in the summer time. I mean like everyday at the same time in the summer. Its annoying really. Florida literally has the most bipolar weather system I’ve ever seen! This week for example, Monday: it was nice out low 70sish, Tuesday: Freezing, Wednesday: slightly cold, Thursday: cloudy and rainy and today: it was hot again. Like really make up your damn mind! For people with a slight form of OCD like me and pick out their clothes for the week in advance (I hope i’m not the only one that does this), there can be a real shock when you get outside or it throws me off when I have to pick out a new outfit in the morning.

Anyway on a cloudy and rainy Thursday I made meatballs! Now you, whoever you are, should be proud of me. I was offered free dinner yesterday afternoon after I went to a doctors appointment with my grandfather, who I call Poppie, to check up on his cancer. Now I’m normally all about free dinner especially when its rainy but I said no!

Image

They were already made so I just thawed them out and put them on a cookie sheet in the oven at 425 for 25 mins

Image

That may have been too long cause they were burned a little on the bottom.

While those were cooking I chop up a head of cauliflower into abour 2-3 inch chunks. Then I steamed them until they were  tender.

Image

Then I put them in the food chopper with some ghee and some spices and processed. I had to do mine in several batches because my chopper is tiny.

Image

And now there is mashed cauliflower.

Image

I personally didn’t like the taste or texture really. I can’t describe the taste really but It wasn’t bad just not my thing. And the texture to me was more like rice. It did balance the spice of the meatballs though. I am starting to realize I can’t really hold my heat. Anyway the cauliflower helped tone it down for me. So even though I didn’t really like it, it did do a good job. In all it was yummy and I ate it for lunch today.

Now I forgot to take any pictures of my food today. Sad I know! All I did was cook those hamburger patties that I had prepared with bacon. When I say I cooked I mean my Poppie grilled. I did cheat with a tiny and I really mean tiny bit of mayo (I haven’t been able to create a paleo version with any success yet) cause a plain hamburger just isn’t fantastic. But as I started eating it the flavor of the bacon became seriously present and I stopped using the mayo. It was so good. I even ate a few of the chips I bought today.

They are pretty good and the ingredients aren’t bad.

Ingredients: Sweet potato, canola oil and/or safflower oil and/or sunflower oil, salt, evaporated cane juice, spices, garlic powder, cilantro. – See more at: http://www.terrachips.com/our-chips/sweet-potato-chips/72822923456#sthash.MnkJy0Sp.dpuf

Only thing about them that is questionable is the evaporated cane sugar but It was buy these or spend way too much time making chips. Which is the better option I know but I decided to eat a little sugar in comparison to breaking my back!

Leave a Reply

